3 Day Serengeti Camping Safari
This 3 day Serengeti camping safari is the lowest priced listing in the Serengeti safari packages catalog at $770 per person. Suricata Safaris runs it as a shared road trip from Arusha through Serengeti National Park and down onto the Ngorongoro crater floor, with two nights in tents and all meals. It holds a 5 rating from 794 reviews, which is a lot of travellers for a camping trip. One thing matters before you book anything here: the listing does not say whether park and crater fees are in the price. This page walks the route, the camps and the gaps so you can ask the right questions. See every option on the Serengeti safari packages. Compare it with the other Serengeti safari packages.
About This Tour
Suricata Safaris runs this as a shared camping safari for up to 7 travelers in the vehicle, with a maximum of 6 per booking. A driver-guide and a cook travel with you. Day 1 is the road from Arusha to the Serengeti with an evening game drive, day 2 crosses to the Ngorongoro crater rim, and day 3 is the crater floor before the drive back.
The tents go up at Seronera campsite in the Serengeti and at Simba campsite on the crater rim. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are included, with a picnic lunch on the crater floor on day 3. The inclusions list names meals only, so the listing never states whether park and crater fees are in the price. Ask the operator in writing before you pay.
$770 per person, the lowest price in the catalog. Meals are the only inclusion named, so park and crater fees are not confirmed either way. Travel insurance and tips for the guide and cook are excluded.
3 days by road. No flights in the itinerary.
Arusha. Hotel pickup from a listed set of Arusha hotels about 30 minutes before departure, or meet in the reception lobby of your hotel.
2 nights camping: Seronera campsite in the Serengeti, then Simba campsite on the Ngorongoro crater rim.
The API marks no mandatory extras, but park fees are unstated, and tips for the guide and cook plus travel insurance are excluded. There is no balloon and no flights in this itinerary.
Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure for a full refund. Inside 24 hours, no refund.
Check Dates and Availability
Starting times are shown when you check a date. Pickup runs about 30 minutes before departure from a listed set of Arusha hotels.
You'll confirm the exact date and time on the secure booking page.
Quick answer Price, route and the fee question
The 3 day Serengeti camping safari costs $770 per person, runs 3 days by road from Arusha and camps 2 nights at Seronera and on the Ngorongoro crater rim. The listing does not state whether park fees are in the price, so ask the operator in writing before booking.
Key takeaways
- If you want the fee line written down, the 3-Day Serengeti Big Five Safari lists all park fees as included at $900.
- Want two nights in the Serengeti instead of one? The 4-Day Serengeti Camping Safari adds a full Serengeti day for $950.
- Compare every duration and price on the Serengeti safari packages.
What the Price Actually Covers
The $770 covers the shared vehicle with driver-guide, a cook, 2 camp nights and all meals. Several normal safari costs sit outside it, and one is unconfirmed.
The Included List Is Short
The listing names breakfast, lunch and dinner as inclusions, plus the camp nights at Seronera and Simba and the road transport with a driver-guide and a cook. That is the whole stated list. No vehicle type is named, so pop-up roof or window seat claims are not stated.
Excluded are travel insurance and tips for the guide and cook. Tanzania Specialist suggests tipping a safari driver-guide $10 per day per person in your group, while Duma Explorer suggests $50 per vehicle per day shared among passengers.
| Line | In the price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Tour price | Yes | $770 per person, shared tour of up to 7 travelers |
| Meals | Yes | Breakfast, lunch and dinner, picnic lunch on the crater floor day 3 |
| Camping | Yes | 2 nights: Seronera campsite, then Simba campsite on the crater rim |
| Park and crater fees | Not stated | The inclusions list names meals only, confirm in writing before booking |
| Flights | No | No flights in the itinerary, all travel by road |
| Balloon | No | Not part of this itinerary |
| Travel insurance | No | Listed as an exclusion |
| Tips | No | Tips for the guide and cook are listed as exclusions |
The Fee Gap Is the Whole Story at This Price
This is the lowest price in the catalog, and the listing does not state park fees. The TANAPA tariff for the latest published season sets the Serengeti conservation fee for non-East African adults aged 16 and over at $70 per day in peak season and $60 in low season, VAT exclusive. Sources that include 18% VAT quote $82.60 high season and $70.80 low season, or $83 flat.
If fees are excluded, the Ngorongoro Conservation Area fees and the crater service fee come on top of the tour price. So ask Suricata Safaris in writing whether the Serengeti entry, transit and camping fees and the crater service fee are in the $770. Get the answer before you pay the deposit.
What the Alternatives Confirm
Two comparable listings remove the doubt. The 3-Day Serengeti Big Five Safari costs $900 and lists all park fees as included: entry, transit, concession, camping fees and the crater service fee. The 4-Day Serengeti Camping Safari costs $950 with entrance fees listed as included and adds a second Serengeti night.
If the fee answer from Suricata is no, the $900 listing is the one that documents what its price covers.
Sources: Wikipedia, Serengeti National Park, Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority tariffs
A pop-up-roof safari Land Cruiser parked in the shade of an acacia. Photo: Güldem Üstün, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons
The Route Day by Day
The itinerary is a loop from Arusha with each day listed at 6 hours, one night in the Serengeti and one on the crater rim. The listing gives day titles and durations rather than clock times.
Road, Plains and Crater Floor
Day 1 starts early after breakfast with hotel pickup about 30 minutes before departure. The listing gives the drive to Serengeti National Park as a 6-hour item, while its own text calls it a three-hour drive. The day ends with an evening game drive before dinner at Seronera campsite.
Day 2 opens with a morning game drive and an early lunch, then the road south out of the Serengeti to the Ngorongoro crater rim for the night at Simba campsite. Day 3 goes straight down to the crater floor after an early breakfast with a picnic lunch, then the drive back to Arusha. No return time is stated.
The listing does not promise any sighting, and the animals decide what a game drive produces.
| Day | Route | Night at |
|---|---|---|
| Day 1 | Arusha to Serengeti National Park (listed at 6 hours), evening game drive | Seronera campsite |
| Day 2 | Morning game drive in the Serengeti, then road to Ngorongoro | Simba campsite on the crater rim |
| Day 3 | Crater floor tour with picnic lunch, then road back to Arusha | No night, tour ends at your Arusha hotel |
What the Shape Buys You and What It Costs
One Serengeti night means roughly two game-drive sessions in the park, an evening and a morning, plus transit time. The crater floor day is a single long visit with a picnic lunch. If you want two Serengeti nights and a full day on the plains, the 4-Day Serengeti Camping Safari is the direct upgrade at $950, and the editor's pick is the 5-Day Serengeti Camping Safari at $1,320, which adds a full Tarangire day and lists all fees and taxes as included.
Each day is listed at 6 hours, so expect long days in the vehicle.
Camping in Serengeti National Park
Camping in Serengeti National Park, from tents to the campsite. Third-party video by Joanna Nemes. This site did not shoot it and has no relationship with the creator.
Who This Trip Rules Out
A shared camping trip at the lowest price in the catalog comes with real limits. Check each one against your own trip before booking.
The Stated Limits
The listing is explicit about health. It is not recommended for travelers with spinal injuries, poor cardiovascular health or pregnancy, and infants must sit on an adult's lap. All ages can book otherwise.
The shared vehicle takes up to 7 travelers with up to 6 per booking, so you cannot control who shares your game drives. Camping at Seronera and on the crater rim means cool nights and no lodge comfort. Long days in a shared vehicle are hard on young children.
And the $770 does not cover travel insurance or tips, and leaves the park fee question open.
- If fees in writing matter, the 3-Day Serengeti Big Five Safari lists all park fees as included.
- If you want more time in the Serengeti, the 4-Day Serengeti Camping Safari gives two nights there.
- If tents are not for you, the 4-Day Serengeti Mid-Range Safari sleeps in lodges and camps at $1,750.
- Compare the whole market of Serengeti safari packages before you commit.
Lionesses on a rock near Seronera. Photo: Christoph Strässler, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Season, Fees and Paperwork
Timing, fees and entry rules decide half of how this trip feels. The facts below come from published tariffs and park references.
When to Go and Where the Herds Are
SafariBookings puts the Serengeti dry season from June to October and the wet season from November to May, with the heaviest rain in March and April. High season runs July to March. Daytime highs average about 27 °C with chilly nights, so pack warm layers for the crater rim.
The migration involves more than 1.5 million wildebeest on a loop through the ecosystem, and it moves with the rain, so no operator can promise where the herds will be on your dates. For month-by-month detail, read the guide to the best time to visit Serengeti.
The Fees That Apply
The Serengeti conservation fee for non-East African adults is $70 per day in peak season and $60 in low season on the TANAPA tariff, VAT exclusive. Sources quoting with 18% VAT give $82.60 and $70.80, or $83 flat. Children aged 5 to 15 pay $20 per day and under 5 are free.
Because this listing does not state whether fees are included, multiply the daily figures by your days in each park to understand what is at stake, then ask the operator in writing.
Visa, Health and Packing
SafariFind lists a single-entry Tanzania tourist visa at $50 valid up to 90 days and a multiple-entry visa at $100. Some sources report US passport holders must take the $100 multiple-entry visa, so confirm for your nationality on the Tanzania visa guide. Consult a travel clinic about yellow fever and malaria advice for northern Tanzania.
For the kit, Expert Africa advises light summer clothing for midday heat and warm layers for cool mornings and nights, and khaki or green tones over white or bright colours. The what to wear on safari guide has the full list.
The Trip in Stages
Three road days, two camps, two parks. Times below follow the listing's own day structure.
-
Pickup
Arusha hotel pickup
About 30 minutes before departure from a listed set of Arusha hotels, or meet in your hotel reception lobby. The listing does not state a departure hour, check availability to see starting times.
-
Day 1
Arusha to the Serengeti
A drive listed at 6 hours after an early breakfast, then an evening game drive in Serengeti National Park. Dinner and overnight at Seronera campsite.
-
Day 2
Morning game drive, road to the crater rim
A morning game drive and an early lunch in the Serengeti, then the drive to Ngorongoro with commentary en route. Dinner and overnight at Simba campsite on the crater rim.
-
Day 3
Crater floor, then back
After an early breakfast, straight down to the Ngorongoro crater floor for a day tour with a picnic lunch, then the road back to Arusha. The listing states no return time.
-
Return
Back at the start point
The tour ends where it began, at your Arusha hotel. Budget tips for the guide and cook, which the listing excludes.
Pros and Cons
An honest read of the cheapest camping listing in the catalog.
What we genuinely like
- Lowest price in the catalog at $770 per person with all meals and 2 camp nights
- 5 rating from 794 verified reviews, the deepest review base of any 3-day camping trip here
- Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure for a full refund
- Cook travels with the group, so camping does not mean self-catering
- All ages can book, infants sit on an adult's lap
The honest downsides
- The listing does not state whether park and crater fees are in the price, which could add to the real cost, so get the answer in writing before booking
- Only one night in the Serengeti, so game-drive time there is an evening and a morning
- Each of the three days is listed at 6 hours
- Shared vehicle of up to 7 travelers and no vehicle type stated
- Travel insurance and tips for the guide and cook are excluded
Who it's NOT for: Not for travelers with spinal injuries, poor cardiovascular health or pregnancy, and not for anyone who needs the fee scope documented before paying.
Questions About This Tour
Does the $770 include park fees?
The listing does not say. The inclusions name meals only, so ask Suricata Safaris in writing before booking. For a listing that states fees up front, see the 3-Day Serengeti Big Five Safari.
How much are Serengeti entry fees if I pay them myself?
The TANAPA tariff sets the conservation fee for non-East African adults at $70 per day in peak season and $60 in low season, VAT exclusive, with sources quoting $82.60 and $70.80 including 18% VAT. The Serengeti safari packages shows which listings include fees.
Can I cancel if my plans change?
Yes, cancel at least 24 hours before departure for a full refund, inside 24 hours there is no refund. Other options are listed on the Serengeti safari packages.
Is one night in the Serengeti enough?
It gives an evening and a morning game drive, which is the minimum for a first visit. If you want a full day on the plains, the 4-Day Serengeti Camping Safari adds a second Serengeti night for $950.
Who is this trip not suitable for?
The listing advises against it for travelers with spinal injuries, poor cardiovascular health and pregnancy, and infants must sit on an adult's lap. If tents rule you out, the 4-Day Serengeti Mid-Range Safari sleeps in lodges and camps.
What wildlife might I see?
The Serengeti ecosystem holds more than 3,000 lions, but no listing can promise a sighting, and the animals decide. Read more in the guide to Serengeti animals.
How big is the group?
It is a shared tour of up to 7 travelers with up to 6 per booking, with a driver-guide and a cook. Compare group sizes across all Serengeti safari packages.
Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure